Skip to content

What gives, Coachella?

April 13, 2012
by

To festively honor the opening day of this now double-weekend event, I’m going to post a minor complaint that I’ve had since January.

crazy nonsense
Maybe it is because the past two years of this festival have been beyond beyond beyond my wildest imagination as far as lineup is concerned, and maybe it has to do with all of the speculations and rumors about who would play this year, but I am pretty disappointed that many bands (I thought were “guaranteed” to be there) are not there.

The list I have compiled are all bands which are either:
a) really hot right now
b) have new music out
c) are touring
d) are play at all of the other festivals
e) all of the the above

So now I present to you, NOT playing Coachella this year:

Fleet Foxes

Wilco (for some reason I was convinced they would be there, which is the only reason I didn’t see them in January!)

The Naked and Famous

The War on Drugs

Jack White

Sigur Rós

The grand and many-time grammy winning Foo Fighters

No Doubt (they were heavily speculated, but I personally don’t care that they aren’t there)

Black Sabbath (also heavily speculated)

Daft Punk (speculated every single year)

Washed Out

Foster the People (I know they were there last year, but Coachella is famous for repeats!)

Coldplay

The Antlers

Blink-182 (only because they’ve been appearing at

Telekinesis

Death Cab for Cutie

Sufjan Stevens (yeah, that’s just a personal fantasy of mine, not sure if that would ever really happen.)

But really, quite a shock none of these artists will appear this year, at least in my opinion.

Have more artists you think should have been there this year?
Want to complain about anything, even if it’s totally unrelated? Say so in the comments!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 14, 2012 10:06 PM

    Sufjan @ Chella. Truly an awesome idea.

Leave a Reply

