Skip to content

A Quick Word About: Moby – Wait For Me

March 17, 2011
by

Quietly released in 2009, Wait for Me came as a surprise to my ears. I must have purchased it as an amazon.com daily mp3 deal or something, but however I obtained it isn’t the point. The point is that I bought a record that is a beautiful masterpiece without even noticing it. Moby‘s work has never really caught on with my brain, much like the work of Queen or even Michael Jackson.  To drop the fact that I don’t enjoy listening to Michael Jackson’s music or Queen is something of a shock to people. Of course, I’m not claiming that Moby’s music is something that has become so hugely popular as those two artists, but the effects of his music are the same as listening to Michael Jackson or Queen: my brain is bored. My brain doesn’t get why this music is so popular. Maybe it just isn’t the right time in my life for those two groups… Whatever the case, there it is. For everyone to see…

Anyway, the reason I wrote this post was because I have rediscovered Wait for Me after some time. Upon immediately purchasing it I found the record to have a quiet beauty, but it was still challenging for me. I did like it though, far better than any of his other albums. Even though I found it to be a challenging listen, I gave it time to present its case. And now that I have heard the whole thing, I heartily recommend this album to you. This is probably an album you have never heard about before, something that didn’t even register as a blip on your radar… And that’s ok.

The thing I have learned about recommending music to people is that you need to get used to failure or disappointment. I can’t tell you how many times I have showed a friend something that I have raved about being amazing or beautiful or any other adjective. It is a weird feeling to play a song for a friend and have them not see what you see, not hear what you hear. For you, this song is something that brings you great joy, but for them it is just another ho-hum track. Now, their opinion could change upon further listening, like it usually does (a notable example is when I showed The National to a friend. He hated it initially, but has since told me he has dreamed about the music and finds some songs that he likes).

With this in mind I recommend Wait for Me to you, dear reader. This album offers you an invitation that you will either accept or decline. Accept it and you will be drawn into a beautiful album that gets better and better the deeper you go into its sixteen tracks. If you decline this invitation or find it underwhelming, then just do what the album requests of you: wait for it. Give it time. Revisit it at a later point in your life. There is a certain subjectiveness to enjoying music, but one thing that I have found is that it is not difficult to make the distinction between good music and bad music. Some people just don’t want to admit that they enjoy bad music… I am guilty of this as well, looking back to my Creed times back in High School… But it is with an objective understanding of music that I tell you this: Wait for Me is a great album with beautiful music on it. This is undeniable and unavoidable.

So please, dear reader, give this album your ear. You will not be disappointed… If you can’t find yourself getting into it, just give it time. That is all it asks for…

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 10:20 PM

    I do not honestly believe that you don’t like listening to Queen.

Leave a Reply

