Skip to content

Kanye West – My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

November 25, 2010
by

Again and again my friends and I have been astounded and appalled by the apparently stunning reviews this album has been receiving.
So (thanks to Eric) I gave it a listen.

This has got to be the most disturbing cover of the decade.

Apparently, as they say, "you can't judge a book by it's freakishly grotesque and childish cover."

My first impression is that it is unusual. A bastard child of hip hop, modern pop, swelling piano scores, experimental electronics and several pretentious assholes, this album is at least interesting and sonically diverse.

It even includes a grossly over-autotuned duet with Bon Iver. Take that, fans of Bon Iver.

While I, as a rule, don’t love music that contains such lyrics as: “I don’ need yo pussy bitch I’m on my own dick.”
This one is at least somewhat tolerable. Other than the (not unusual) appalling lyrics, if this happened to be on in the background I would definitely be tapping my feet.
Though I’m not about to go and give it 10/10.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

