Skip to content

My Week in Music (1-19 to 1-25)

January 26, 2010
by

This week I decided to do something a little different. Posting my top 8 bands for the week from last.fm is cool and all, but there are some weeks where my top plays don’t reflect the music I actually listened to, mostly because I sometimes listen to music in ways that aren’t all digital, and therefore last.fm is unable to keep a record of them. So here are three records that I recently purchased and would like to tell you about, dear reader. The first two are new and the third one is an album by a band that is quite dear to my heart. Here we go!

The first album is by a band that I have heard so much about, but honestly only own one album of. The band is Spoon and the album I own is Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (2007). Though I didn’t like that album at first it proved to be a grower, becoming an album that I really enjoy listening to and return to often. The last song on the album ‘Black Like Me’ is one of the best songs on the album; a very catchy and Beatles-esk tune that finishes off the album quite nicely. I got to see Spoon live this past year which helped my admiration for them grow. So, upon hearing that they had a new album coming out this year, I immediately pre-ordered it, taking a bit of a risk. Transference (2010) is the title of the new album and it is a word used in psychology to describe when someone seeking treatment from a psychologist starts to have affection for them, often happening at an unconscious level. If I am the person seeking treatment in this analogy and Transference (the album) is the psychologist, then it isn’t working. Granted, there are some songs on this album that I do enjoy, ‘The Mystery Zone’, ‘Written in Reverse’, and ‘Got Nuffin’ to name a few. One of the reasons that it is more difficult to get into this album is due to what I consider to be an unwise decision in the track placement. The first track (‘Before Destruction’) doesn’t do a very good job kicking off the album, being a quiet, slower, lo-fi, acoustic song. The track after that (‘Is Love Forever’) would have been a much better choice for an album opener. This may have been done on purpose by the band to catch listeners off guard and if this is true, then they succeed. If this was not the case, then it is baffling to me why they would do this. In the end, this album suffers from my love for their previous album Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga. I can only hope that this album also turns out to be a grower because, to be honest, it has a head start.

Vampire Weekend is a recent band on my radar. The only reason I started listening to them was because I was attending a concert at which they were performing. I hadn’t really thought anything of their music, writing them off as a hipster band for hipsters. Luckily I got over myself and gave their debut album (Vampire Weekend [2008]) my ear, which was a very good idea. The album is fast and fun. And their live show proved to be much of the same. So purchasing their newest album, Contra (2010), was a logical conclusion. I wrote about this album previously and I stand by what I said: This is not Vampire Weekend II. The band clearly has decided to make an album that feels almost like it should have come before their first one, something that band has also discussed. Contra is slower and more thoughtful, if that can be said about this album. Some may call it a sophomore slump, but they just confuse an album that goes slower than the previous one as a slump. Contra is a good album, and while it is not as exciting as their previous entry, it still offers a lot for pure musical enjoyment.

And lastly is an older album by a band whose name is (oddly) Elbow. Cast of Thousands (2003) continues to be one of Elbow’s strongest albums to date and holds a special place in my heart. Elbow was a discovery I made entirely on my own and a risk that paid off in full. I strongly recommend this album to anyone, especially as the first album to listen to by this band. If you like this album, the rest of their catalog should come easily. Some tracks that I consider great: ‘Fallen Angel’ ‘Fugitive Motel’, and ‘Switching Off’.

So, hopefully this change up in how I do this part wasn’t too surprising or alarming. Any musical choices that you made that are worth noting? Have a great week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 11:59 AM

    Worst taste in music ever.

  2. January 28, 2010 8:12 PM

    Well, Marek, what do you suggest I listen to? I am open to try anything.

Leave a Reply

