Skip to content

Music Appreciation: Mew

January 13, 2010
by

I’ve decided to create a new series on the site called ‘Music Appreciation’ where my friends and I let you, dear reader, know about a band we feel deserves your time and ears. For the first post of this new series I’ve decided to post about Mew (not the pokemon) a band from the great country of Denmark. More specifically, I will be mentioning their album And the Glass Handed Kites (2005).

This year was one of the better years for my adventures in music. Almost every single one of my risks that I took to find new music paid off in full (but does that mean I like many kinds of music or I must not be taking big risks?). One of my purchases over that summer was Mew’s recent release No More Stories… which ended up as an honorable mention on what I consider to be the best albums released this year. While that album does deserve praise for what it achieves (one of the best hidden songs of all time!) as well as being a good album, another thing it did was introduce me to the rest of the catalogue of this band. With two more music purchases came Frengers (2003), their international debut, and the album I am going to write about here.

There is only one word I can use to describe And the Glass Handed Kites: breathtaking. This is truly music that drives you, pulls you, leads you, and takes you on an adventure. It is one of the strongest albums I have ever heard, due in part to the fact that it could almost be called one long song. The band decided to have seamless transitions between ever track, meaning there is never silence on the album unless the band wanted there to be silence. It is rare to find so complete an album without any real pauses or average tracks. This is an album that was created to be listened to exactly how it is: a complete and whole album. Take the 50 minutes out of your busy schedule to offer it your complete attention. It will pay you back in full, even with interest. This is one of those albums that you wish that you had been some part of because you love it so much. If you are willing to take a risk, as I was, then you will truly be rewarded.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

