Skip to content

My Week in Music (12-8 to 12-14)

December 14, 2009
by

This past week was dominated by a concert that I was able to go to on Saturday, The Holiday Hootenanny. This was a very good concert and I will be writing a concert review in the next week (as soon as I finish schooling for this semester). A great show indeed.

Because they were in the line-up for the show, Phoenix, Manchester Orchestra, Vampire Weekend, Spoon, and White Rabbits were must listens all last week. They are all fantastic bands and they represented themselves well at the show. Like I said before, I’ll go into more detail by the end of the week.

The Decemberists, which have also been giving a lot of music to my ears this week, have always been an easy listen for me. Recently I have been able to listen to their whole discography, which helped to solidify their status as a go to band when I am working on papers. Almost as good as classical music, but I wouldn’t go so far to say that. The Crane Wife (2006) is one of my favorite records, full of some of the best in indie alternative music.

Lastly is Brand New, one of my favorite bands. Their newest album, Daisy (2009), is one of the best records I have heard this year. That speaks for itself.

How was your week? Any notable discoveries that you need to shout out?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 12:07 AM

    “Fall Be Kind” is Amazing. I am listening to it right now.

    It’s kinda beautifully haunting, if you will…
    give it a good listen if you haven’t.

Leave a Reply

