Skip to content

My Week in Music (12-1 to 12-7)

December 7, 2009
by

There’s a cold rain here in LA, but that’s alright! It’s a new week, and so I am going to flesh out the music choices I made in the past week.The first artist appears to have a huge amount of plays as compared to the others. While I do enjoy listening to The National, the plays can be easily explained. On Saturday I was quite ill, and I had turned on my ipod to The National to listen to something while I napped. The night went from bad to worse and I completely forgot to turn off my ipod until the next morning. That aside, I do really enjoy The National. Their third album, Alligator (2005), is a masterpiece. While not an easy album to listen to at all, it has grown on me a lot in the past year.

The next artist, Deas Vail, is somewhat of a new listen for me. They have been recommended to me by a friend for quite some time, and I finally gave in. It turned out to be a great idea, because their music is quite good. Some similar artists include the bands Lydia, Lovedrug, and Copeland, although Deas Vail gets the distinction of making music that is a little more uplifting than their contemporaries. The lead singers voice is amazing!

Beirut is also a recent add to my music library, and they have come up multiple times. They have a very distinct sound, as explained by my friend: “The lead singer plays the trumpet, and so when he sings his voice will take the trumpet part in the song”. I am still giving these guys a good listen, so the jury is out, but i will say that their album The Flying Club Cup (2007) (say that album title 10 times fast!) is a fantastic album.

The forth most listened to artist is Jonsi whom Morgan posted about a couple days ago. His recently released song ‘Boy Lilikoi’ is an amazing song. I can’t think of a better song that I have heard in the last couple months. It is not like Sigur Ros at all. From the language he sings in (english) to the overall ‘pop’ feel that the song has. Sigur Ros’ previous release Med Sud… (2008) sounds similar, but Jonsi’s new song floats above that album. One of the better songs I have ever heard in my life.

Another bit of great music from 2009 comes in the form of Mute Math‘s sophomore album Armistice (2009). A difficult album to listen to at first, mostly because it differs pretty profoundly from their previous release S/T (2006). Where that album was an achievement in musical sound, this album succeeds in its lyrical content. Never has the pain of a divorce or a break-up been so accurately represented in song. You may feel that this is not the recipe for a great album at all, but you should wait until you hear the album to draw any conclusions. A very difficult album to listen to at first, I recommend multiple listens.

Copeland, Louis Armstrong, and Sufjan Stevens round out the bottom three for the week. Copeland’s album, You Are My Sunshine (2008) is a very good album, and I would strongly recommend it. Louis Armstrong was a gift from a friend, and while I usually have a difficult time listening to jazz or oldies, he is a very good artist worthy of all of the praise given to him. I must add that I was unaware of the amount of sexual innuendo in his music, so it was a bit of a surprise to hear it in his music. And lastly is that amazing artist known as Sufjan Stevens. His album, The BQE (2009), I have already written about, and it continues to be a great album. I can’t wait for his next album to come out!

So there you go, dear readers, here is the music I listened to this past week. What did you listen to? Have any albums or artists to give a shout out to?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 11:02 PM

    Falling asleep with your iPod on is cheating. I don’t care how sick you are.

    ;-p

Leave a Reply

