Skip to content

Music Appreciation

December 5, 2009
by

I’ve heard it said that someone once asked Ray Charles whether or not he liked country western music, and his response was: “Well, music is music, and I love music.”

Quite often when I find myself in the presence of any sort of music I begin to feel the same way.

I will tell you outright that there is some music that I really enjoy and some music that I do not like. But I find it very hard not to enjoy music when, for example, someone is performing said music right in front of me.

For example, I would not say that I am a huge fan of “gangsta rap” as a genre, but when I see someone throwing down a freestyle rap before my eyes and ears, it is really hard not to be impressed! After dipping my toes into the genre, I believe that Tupac Shakur was actually quite the poet. His work is nothing short of magnificent (albeit not appropriate in all venues).
When you are in the midst of a song or a piece of music, it is really hard not to love it.

You guys wish you knew how to dance like this.

This weekend I am working as a stagehand for the Nutcracker Ballet and I am absolutely loving every minute of it.

Ballet is often the sort of thing that people can easily poke fun at, but when you actually get to see one, how can you not be insanely impressed by the grand music, the dancing, the costumes, the spinning and the twirling and the incredibly fit men prancing around in tights? The music is captivating, emotional, powerful, and beautiful. It’s really great!

I am very picky when it comes to the music I listen to, but whatever I am intimately exposed to I tend to love. So, I might not be the best reviewer of music on this website.
I am very sorry, music snobs! I apologize in advance!
Sometimes, as they say, I will love things that only a mother could love.

In the future, I plan to discuss my personal musical rating system (how and why I like the music that I do) and my background concerning music.

For now I will say, Tchaikovsky was crazy but amazing, and happy music-loving to all!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

