Skip to content

UPDATE: New Jònsi Project

December 4, 2009
by

The last thing I posted was about the new jònsi website.

I checked the site again this morning to discover a wonderful surprise: a new song!
I downloaded it and gave it a listen and have been in complete awe since.

In case you were unaware: Jònsi Þór Birgisson is an Icelandic musician most known for his “postrock” band Sigur Ròs, and the band Rice Boy Sleeps, which is Jònsi and his partner, Alex.
I have been in love with Sigur Ròs for as long as I have known of their music.
Sigur Ròs is well known because of their majestic and beautiful sound, but also, the singing voice is often blended in with the music as if it was an instrument.
Most of their recordings are in Icelandic, but the 2002 album “( )” was in a made up language the band called “hopelandic.”

I was unsure of exactly what the new solo “jònsi” project would entail, but I was definitely excited.

What shocked me this morning was that I discovered, either I have listed to Sigur Ròs so much that I now perfectly understand Icelandic, or his new song, “Boy Lilikoi” is in English!

I don’t even know what to think about this, except that I love it.

It is odd and funny because many of my Sigur Ròs-loving friends will tell you that what they love most about their music is that it is not in English and therefore there are no lyrical meanings that are explicitly told to the listener. Even the Sigur Ròs songs that are in Icelandic and do have a meaning they would prefer not to know.

So this is an interesting twist! English!

By the way, the new album is called “go” and is set to be released the week of March 22, 2010.

Please visit www.jònsi.com and get the song!

Tell us how you feel about it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 2:06 PM

    It’s like biting into the best batch of candy you ever have eaten in your life. You take a first bite, and slowly the taste spreads throughout your entire mouth until you are exploding with flavor! It’s so good!

  2. Ben permalink
    December 5, 2009 11:38 PM

    oh wow. thats awesome. it makes me want to do some research myself on this guy, listen to some of his music, and maybe get stoked for when ‘GO’ comes out. 😀

    although…. major downer he likes the dude! oh well. at least im very confident about my sexuality! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. My Week in Music (first week of December) « Friend of Mine

Leave a Reply

