Skip to content

My Week in Music (11-23 to 11-30)

November 30, 2009
by

I have decided to start posting my week in the music that I listen to. Not only will this encourage me to post more, but it will also be cool to flesh out the music decisions that I make. Well, here goes nothing:

The largest amount of listens this week go to Switchfoot. Their new album, Hello Hurricane (2009), is pretty good. I will not go so far as to say it is their best one, but it is very catchy and includes some of the strongest songs that Switchfoot has written to date. I was able to recently go to one of their shows where they played the album in it’s entirety and I was very impressed. The opening song, ‘Needle and Haystack Life’, is perhaps one of their best songs. A friend of mine pointed out that it might have some of their strongest drumming to date and i agree. Personal favorite from the album: ‘Bullet Soul’.

Next on the list, Sufjan Stevens, comes from his new album, The BQE (2009). This is also an amazing album. It is not a continuation of his states project, (he has said in interviews that he is done with that), but more of an ode to those who suffer through traffic every day of their lives. A must listen to when driving (even if the traffic is moving along very well).

This ends the new albums, with the remainder of the plays coming from older albums I have recently acquired. I have been told to listen to Pedro the Lion a lot, but I never really got into them. This is my third try, and I think I am finally starting to enjoy their music. I will write more about this in the future hopefully. Wilco‘s album, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (2001), is just as good as you have been told (if you have been told). I really enjoy this album, and will be listening to it more in the future for sure! Elbow is a band that I have recently discovered this year, and I just bought their oldest album, Asleep in the Back (2001). I’m still a little hesitant to have a verdict about this album, but that doesn’t mean that i don’t like it. I just need to listen to it more. Jonny Greenwood‘s (the lead guitarist from the band Radiohead) masterpiece Bodysong (2004) is exactly what i just called it: a masterpiece. Vampire Weekend, who i am going to see in a couple of weeks, has written a very very catchy album (S/T). And lastly is The Honorary Title. Anything Else But the Truth (2004) is a very solid album, albeit a depressing one.

What have you listened to this week (my imaginary readers)?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Morgan permalink*
    December 1, 2009 7:24 PM

    I have been listening to everything you just gave me and I just gave you.

    🙂

  2. December 2, 2009 6:59 PM

    the first three on your list are AWESOME! good choices. =]

    is this a conglomerative blog? also, do you two want to join http://foryourenjoyment.wordpress.com?

    cool site, over and out.

Leave a Reply

